Today is World Cancer Day—a global day of awareness created by the International Union Against Cancer. As you might already know, cancer is about to become the #1 cause of death in the world.  This is why it is important that we use World Cancer Day to make our family and friends aware of cancer and encourage everyone to “CALL YOUR DOCTOR” and make an appointment to get a physical and ask questions.

Everyone knows of the emotional roller coaster which is caused by cancer, but most people do not realize that most cancers can be prevented or at least, if caught early, cured.  This can only happen if everyone takes a proactive stance against cancer.  This proactive stance today is “CALL YOUR DOCTOR” and make an appointment.  It is that simple!

Make your appointment to get your yearly physical and ensure you speak to your doctor about cancer and the different types which you, at your age, should be aware of.  Make sure you tell your doctor about any abnormal lumps, irregular feelings in parts of your body or even in how often you go to the bathroom.

Let’s face it, it is not easy for a person to open up about how they are feeling but if there is one person who you should make sure you talk to that is your doctor.  If you have health related concerns or questions you need to talk to your doctor.  Maybe you get light headed every once in a while, maybe you get blurred vision when driving, maybe you have a hard time going to the bathroom or maybe you feel a lump on your breast.  What ever your concern make sure that your doctor hears your voice.

Trust me when I say I can relate.  Three years ago I felt a lump on my right testicle and did not tell anyone for a few days and in retrospect I should have told my wife immediately and made a doctors appointment.  As it turned out, I had cancer.  I was lucky to have caught it early.  The only reason I am hear today is because I “CALLED MY DOCTOR” and got checked out.

Do yourself, your wife or husband, your son or daughter, your mom or dad a favor and “CALL YOUR DOCTOR” today. 

LIVESTRONG!

Brian P. Dowd

