If you have not seen these pictures yet in the coming days I am sure you will hear more about them. Adam Levine (Lead Singer of Maroon 5) is helping raise awareness for prostate and testicular cancer for Everyman http://www.everyman-campaign.org and there has been some views that the pictures are over-the-top or inappropriate. I have my own opinion on this topic.

Raising Awareness for Prostate & Testicular Cancers

If you were to see this photo without any caption or article supporting it I can see where people might think it is inappropriate.  Recently, on the web, that is exactly what is happening.  People are seeing this picture and saying things like, “INAPPROPRIATE, disgusting, gross and says NOTHING about testicular cancer.”  I counter this with the following response.

As a TC survivor myself I look at it this way. Awareness is the single most important step we need to take against Testicular, Prostate and all cancers. This photo is raising a ton of awareness – planting a seed in the public’s mind.  Case in point, is my childhood friend Jay Towers posted the picture on Facebook and saw hundreds of comments both negative and positive.  The photo was driving discussion, but more importantly – raising awareness.
 
Sometimes you have to do things that are over-the-top to make a point.  This photo is raising a lot of awareness and plants a seed in the public’s mind about Prostate and Testicular Cancers.  Cancer does not care about who you are, what you do, your status in society so I personally do not care if a man or woman take pictures like this to raise awareness.

You may not like the photo, but one cannot argue it is raising awareness.  I congratulate Adam Levine and Everyman on this awareness campaign.  You can get more information at http://www.cosmopolitan.co.uk/

