As I stated in my post yesterday I am doing weight watchers points plus.  I have found this to be the most “sane” way to lose weight.  There are no gimmicks here.  Simply put, YOU WATCH WHAT YOU EAT.  Yes, it is that simple.  The system makes you look at the nutritional values and calculate points.  In order to lose weight you need to follow their daily point allowance so you are really forced to “watch what you eat.”

People who do not know about weight watchers might be asking themselves, points?  What does he mean? Let me give you a little summary based on my daily points plan.

Do to my height and starting weight my daily points started off at 69/day and I had 49 additional weekly points to use as I would like during the 7 day week (Sunday to Sunday.)  This is a large amount of points which just stressed how big I really am.  Here is an example of a breakfast for me during week #1.  6 Egg Whites (2pts) + 1 slice American Cheese (2pts) + 3 pieces of 7 grain bread (3pts) + 1 banana (0pts) + 2 cups coffees with half and half (2pts) + one water = 9points

I then move on to have a morning snack around 10:30-11:00 and then lunch at 12:30.  I would then have an afternoon snack and then dinner.  All the while I look at what each food costs in terms of the points system.  The goal is to use all the points in your daily total.

The best part is you do not have to stop eating the foods you like.  Go ahead and eat them!  You just need to portion it out to meet your points.  I will give you an example. 

I love pasta so last night for dinner Kristy made a great penne pasta with vodka sauce dish (homemade) and it was top notch.  I had 1 cup of the pasta with the vodka sauce and it was 9 points.  I then has a 2 cups of salad with balsamic vinegar and EVOO (1pt) and 1/8 tsp feta (1pt.) Kristy also made broccoli, but I was full and did not eat it.

I have already researched things like pizza, apptz, beer, etc. so I am prepared for when we go out I know what I can and cannot eat.  I also utilize websites that have the weight watchers points for restaurants which is a great help for going out to eat.

As I mention I also get a weekly total of 49 point to use.  These are points to use as I want, when I want during the week.  However, I have not needed to use them as the daily total is filling me up.  The good news these points are there if we go out with friends or with the super bowl coming I will certainly use some of them.

Now that I lost my 11lbs in week one my daily points in week #2 has reduced to 67 points.  As you lose the weight and in order to keep it off you track your weight on the website or application on your iPad or phone so it can then adjust your points system.

My eyes have been opened to new foods (new to me anyway) and I think I like them.  I can honestly say I have eaten more fruits and vegetables the last 10 days than I did in all of 2011.  Yes, that is a sad statement, but it does show that I was not watching what I eat.

My favorite foods from week #1:  carrots, cottage cheese, egg white complete and Italian meatballs Kristy made using weight watchers recipe.

No cravings and liking this!  None of this would be possible without the amazing support of my wife Kristy.  She has been cooking up some great meals and she is making sure I stay on track.   I’m a lucky guy to have her in my life.

LIVESTRONG!

