In 25 days I will be out in Philly area participating in a 5K run and 40 mile bike ride benefiting LIVESTRONG.  As of today I have raised $3,835 which represents 38% of my $10,000 Goal.  Thus the clock is running out on my fundraising.  I need your help. 

Please consider making a donation to Honor someone your know who is a survivor or make it in Memory of someone you lost.  Making a secure online donation is easy.  Just visit http://laf.livestrong.org/goto/brianpdowd and 100% of your donation goes to LIVESTRONG.

It is important that you know where your donated money goes so I wanted you to see some data.  Between January – May 2012 LIVESTRONG has…

  • Provided support to more than 130,000 people affected by cancer through FREE navigation services
  • Saved clients more than $2.3 million through navigation services and Sharing Hope fertility services
  • Reached more than 87,320 students (grades K-12) through our LIVESTRONG at School Program helping children cope and learn about cancer.
  • Trained over 29,300 healthcare professionals on cancer survivorship issues
    Over 1,300 cancer survivors completed the LIVESTRONG at the YMCA Program

As you can see LIVESTRONG ensures they spend the donations on what helps people.  They also inspire people to help take action and this does not cost a dime, but goes a long way in helping survivors. 

For example, I drove down to Washington, D.C. July 9-11 to participate in One Voice Against Cancer (OVAC) lobby day to ensure our elected officials support cancer research, prevention and awareness funding.  I met with Congressmen, Senators and their staff.  More can be read on the Asbury Park Press website.

For those who have supported my effort I once again THANK YOU.  For those considering making a donation THANK YOU.

